Inner Conflict

The rooster crowed, the sun rose, and all the world slowly rolled out of bed. There I sat; a book spread open next to me and toast crumbs falling from my lips. I chewed, I contemplated, I swallowed. Once my toast had met its crunchy demise, not a sound pervaded the soft quilt of my house. Under my own roof, however, a war raged within my mind. I waited anxiously as morals battled instincts: it was to be the daily battle of the century. Unsure which side to take, I assumed the role of spectator to the conflict. Guns flared, cannons crashed, and the screams of the valiant rose as each side made its charge. But without my help, neither could tip the scale of battle. Today was to be a vicious stalemate. Only my say would decide the outcome and I groaned under this tragic responsibility. So I made my stand, I stood. I made my choice, I acted. The enemy was swept away under my reluctant wrath. Looks like my better judgment was to be the winner this time. Today, morals emerged victorious. I hoisted myself from the sofa and began to gather my things for work. Oh well, I can’t call in sick every day.

toast

As always, thanks to The Secret Keeper for hosting the five word weekly writing challenge. Join us at their blog for prompts posted every Monday. This weeks prompt: Write a Poem or Flash fiction including the words | SUN | BOOK | ACT | STAND | WAR |

Leave a comment